filter your search allcollegesexamnews



SSC CGL Selection Process 2016

Last Updated - November 30, 2016

SSC has declared marks of applicants for each region on November 15, 2016. SSC CGL Result Tier 1 exam was released on the official website November 8, 2016. The Selection process is conducted in three tiers. Tier I and Tier II exams are the computer based test. Tier II is divided into 4 papers. Paper 1 and Paper 2 are compulsory for all the applicants. On the other hand, Tier III exam is a Descriptive Test.

There is a separate Tier IV that will be held wherever applicable. It can be either a Computer Proficiency test, a Skill Test or Document Verification. Depending on the post applied for, the SSC selection process can take three to four stages to be completed. There are various posts under Group B and Group C Category. 

SSC CGL 2016 Selection Stages

There are four broad phases in the SSC CGL selection process. The detailed description of stages of  the selection process of CGL exam is as provided below.

  • Tier I: Computer Based Test

This is the first stage of the SSC CGL 2016 selection procedure and it is of only qualifying nature. Tier-I phase will be conducted in Online mode and it will be worth 200 marks. The questions will be of objective nature in MCQ format.

The language of the question paper will be bilingual – both English and Hindi. This means that each question will be available in both the languages. There will be four sections in the question paper of Tier 1. The sections are – Reasoning and General Intelligence, General Awareness, Numerical Aptitude and English Comprehension. 

Tier-I is basically conducted to shortlist people for the next round. The marks obtained by candidates in Tier-I will be taken into account while selecting them for Computer Proficiency Tests (CPT) or Data Entry Skill Test (DEST). These marks will also count towards the criteria for final selection.

  • Tier 2: Computer Based Test

In order to be eligible for appearing in Tier 2, a candidate must secure the cut-off marks set for Tier 1. The Tier 2 test will also be conducted in online mode and will feature objective questions in MCQ format. The question paper will be worth 800 marks in total.

There will be four question papers in total. The duration for each question paper will be two hours. It must be noted that out of the four question papers, only two are compulsory to attempt.

The questions asked in Paper 1 will be of Class X level. Question Paper 2 will be of Class 12 level. Questions asked in Paper 3 and Paper 4 will be of graduation level.

According to the post applied for, a candidate will have to appear for different question papers. Some of the papers that can be tested are – Arithmetical Ability, English Language and Comprehension, General Studies, Commerce, Economics and Mathematics.

  • Tier 3: Descriptive Test

Candidates who qualify Tier 2 examination will be able to appear for Tier 3 level examination. The exam will be conducted in offline or Pen and Paper mode. The questions asked in this round will be of descriptive nature. The exam will be worth 100 marks.

This round of the selection process is aimed at evaluating the writing skills of the test takers. The qualifying marks for this phase are set at 33 per cent. The questions asked in this paper will be Class 12 level.

  • Tier 4: Computer Proficiency Test / Skill Test / Document Verification

This round is also of qualifying nature. Candidates who successfully qualify Tier 3 stage of SSC CGL recruitment will be allowed to sit for the Tier 4 round. In the case of some posts, the fourth phase might also be for document verification. Here, the candidates will be required to produce all necessary documents and certificates in original as well as a set of photocopy.

SSC CGL 2016 Final Selection

Candidates will need to qualify Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3 separately in order to be considered for final selection. However, while preparing the final merit list of candidates, their performance in all tiers will be taken into account.

Separate merit lists will be prepared for different posts. Depending on the vacancy available for recruitment, a certain number of candidates will be shortlisted.

SSC CGL 2016 Tie-Breaker

There might be a situation where more than one candidate has secured equal marks. While preparing the merit list in such cases, a dilemma will arise regarding which candidate to place in what order. To avoid this situation, there are some rules that will come into effect for the purpose of tie breaking.

SSC CGL 2016 Tie-Breaking rules are as given below:-

  • In order of total marks obtained in written examination, the candidate obtaining more marks in the written examination will be given preference.
  • If the tie still remains, the candidate scoring more marks in Tier II will be given preference.
  • If the tie still remains, the candidate scoring more marks in Tier I will be given preference.
  • In case there is still a tie between the candidates, older candidate will have a higher rank
  • After this, alphabetical order of the first names of the candidates decides the rank of the applicant.



No Comments To Show


Related News & Articles

2017-10-16 16:36:30SSC-CGL 2017

SSC CGL 2017 AAO Syllabus, Ex ..

Candidates preparing for SSC CGL AAO Exam can chec ...

2017-10-12 17:06:35SSC-CGL 2017

How to Prepare Statistics for ..

To boost your confidence and amp up your preparati ...

2017-09-13 11:19:33SSC-CGL 2017

SSC CGL 2017 Answer Key, Ques ..

SSC CGL Answer Key 2017 – The answer key of SSC CG ...

2017-08-11 15:44:13SSC-CGL 2017

SSC CGL 2016 Result Declared

SSC CGL 2016 results were declared on the officia ...